The section provides useful and regularly updated information about Czech regions including statistical data and links to official regions` web sites. It also contains information about tourism in the Czech Republic, popular tourist destinations and links to travel guides in the Czech Republic.


Regions of the Czech Republic

The Capital City of Prague

Hradec Kralove region

Central Bohemian region

Pardubice region

Liberec region

Vysocina region (Jihlava)

Usti nad Labem region

South Moravian region (Brno)

Karlovy Vary region

Olomouc region

Pilsen (Plzen) region

Zlin region

South Bohemian region (Ceské Budejovice)

Moravian-Silesian region (Ostrava)

IRIS (Integrated Regional Information System)

This information system is managed by the Center for Regional Development of the Czech Republic and distributes data in Regional Information Systems (RIS). On the website of IRIS there are statistical indicators specifying regional development (with focus on monitoring of regional differences) as well as up-to-date information about development programs, regional projects, regional business entities, administrative institutions and municipalities.


The Czech Republic is a major tourist destination within the context of Central and Eastern Europe. It offers not only numerous historical sights but also beautiful countryside (mountains, ponds, caves, spas with sources of mineral water, regions typical for folk customs and traditions, etc.). The country comprises of three historically defined regions: Bohemia, Moravia, and Silesia.

The capital city of the Czech Republic is Prague. Its layout has developed over as many as eleven centuries. At present, its total area is 496 km2 and it has over 1 million inhabitants. The historical center of the city with its unique panorama of the Prague castle is a UNESCO sight. The second largest city is Brno followed by Ostrava, Plzen, Olomouc, Ceske Budejovice, Hradec Kralove, Usti nad Labem and Pardubice.

Some of the officially protected cities, villages and sights are listed on the UNESCO World Heritage List. These are Cesky Krumlov, Telc, Kutna Hora, St. Jan Nepomucky’s church in Zelena hora, the Lednicko-Valticko District, the Archbishop’s Mansion and the flower and mansion gardens in Kromeriz, the village of Holasovice in Southern Bohemia, the renaissance castle and historical centre of Litomysl, the Holy Trinity Column in Olomouc, the Tugendhat Villa in Brno, and the Jewish district and St. Prokop’s basilica in Trebic.

More information